RTS Nominations 2007-2008

HomeNewsRTS Nominations 2007-2008

The Royal Television Society has announced the nominations for the 2007-2008 Journalism Awards to take place on Thursday 26th February 2009.

Camera Operator of the Year

Raul Gallego Abellan – Associated Press Television News Associated Press Television News

Garwen McLuckie – Sky News Sky News

Stuart Webb – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News

Current Affairs – Home

Omagh: What The Police Were Never Told – Panorama BBC for BBC One

Primark: On the Rack – Panorama BBC for BBC One

The Secret Peacemaker BBC for BBC Two

Current Affairs – International

Britain’s Most Wanted – This World Mentorn Media for BBC for BBC Two

Iraq’s Lost Generation – Dispatches Hardcash for Channel 4 Television

Undercover in Tibet ? Dispatches True Vision for Channel 4 Television

Innovative News

On The Frontline – Afghan Headcams ITV News

10 Days to War – Newsnight BBC Newsnight for BBC Two

Unplugged Sky News

Nations and Regions Current Affairs

A Friend in Need – Focus ITV Meridian

Meat Hygiene – Week In Week Out Special BBC Wales

Story of Michael Barnett – Inside Out BBC Yorkshire

Nations and Regions News Coverage

Boris’s Deputy – Ray Lewis Investigation BBC London News

The Darwin Trial North East Tonight for ITV1

Weston Pier Fire – The West Tonight ITV West for ITV1

News Channel of the Year

Al Jazeera English News Al Jazeera English News

BBC News

Sky News Sky News

News Coverage – Home

Heathrow Crash BBC News

Ipswich – Guilty ITV News

The British Banking Crisis BBC News

News Coverage – International

China – The Earthquake ITV News

Conflict in the Caucasus – Newsnight BBC Newsnight for BBC Two

Congo Crisis ITN for Channel 4 News

News Programme of the Year

BBC News at Ten BBC News for BBC One

Five News with Natasha Kaplinsky Sky News for Five News

News at Ten ITV News

Presenter of the Year

Kay Burley – Sky News Sky News

Andrew Neil – BBC News

Jon Snow – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News

Scoop of the Year

Canoe Man – Gerard Tubb Sky News

China – The Moment the Earth Shook ITV News

HBOS/Lloyds TSB Merger BBC News Channel

Specialist Journalist of the Year

Jason Farrell – Five News Sky News for Five News

Faisal Islam – Channel 4 News/ Channel 4 News at Noon ITN for Channel 4 News

Robert Peston – BBC News

Television Journalist of the Year

Martin Geissler – Africa Correspondent ITV News

Emma Hurd – Sky News Sky News

Robert Peston – BBC News

Young Journalist of the Year

Joe Crowley – Inside Out BBC South

Kate Taunton – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News

Hannah Thomas-Peter – Sky News Sky News

The awards will be presented by Anna Botting.

Posted on Monday 9 February 2009
Jonathan Wills Leaves ITV News Anglia (22)

Jonathan Wills leaves ITV News Anglia – Best Bits


ITV and Christine Talbot today announced she is to leave Calendar at the end of June. Christine started her career as a journalist in local papers, then worked for the BBC before joining Yorkshire Television in 1993 as a reporter… Read more

Prince Philip Dies - BBC News Coverage (4)

The BBC, ITV and Sky News will broadcast live coverage of the ceremonial funeral of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh from Windsor this afternoon. Her Majesty The Queen, together with other members of the Royal Family will attend the funeral… Read more