NFL 2016 – Week One – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports; Highlights on BBC

HomeSports CoverageNFL 2016 – Week One – Live TV Coverage on Sky Sports; Highlights on BBC
Sky Sports NFL 2014 TITLES (1)

The 2016 National Football League season gets underway this evening as the Carolina Panthers take on the 2016 Super Bowl champions, Denver Broncos.

The match will be shown live on Sky Sports and will be the first of six matches to be shown live on Sky in week one.

The Greenbay Packers at Jacksonville Jaguars is the first of Sky’s triple header on Sunday evening (6pm) following by Dallas Cowboys hosting New York Giants (9.25pm).

The night’s action is topped off with NBC’s Sunday Night Football, which sees the Tom Brady-less New England Patriots travel to Arizona Cardinals (1.30am).

The tradition opening weekend double header of Monday Night Football begins with Steelers at the Redskins (12.10am) followed by an all NFC West clash between the L.A Rams and San Francisco 49ers (3.20am).

For the first month of the season, NFL viewers can watch every touchdown on Sky Sports Mix via Redzone – even if you’re not a Sky Sports customer.

The BBC will air weekly highlights throughout the season starting on 17 September. The NFL show follows Match of the Day on Saturdays.

This year there will also be a Tuesday night review show every week of the season on BBC Two, starting on 13 September at 11.20pm. ‘NFL: This Week’ will feature the best of the action all the way through to Super Bowl LI in Houston next February.

Both Sky and the BBC will air Super Bowl 2017 live as well as three international series games which take place at Wembley and Twickenham in October.

Week One, TV Schedule (w/comms and ref details).

Thursday 8 September

Carolina Panthers @ Denver Broncos
1.30am BST – Sky Sports / 8.30pm EDT – NBC
Comms: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth, Michele Tafoya
Ref: Gene Steratore

Sunday 11 September

Greenbay Packers @ Jacksonville Jaguars
6.00pm BST – Sky Sports / 1.00pm EDT – Fox (primary)
Comms: Kevin Burkhardt, John Lynch, Pam Oliver
Ref: Carl Cheffers

New York Giants @ Dallas Cowboys
9.25pm BST / 4.25pm EDT – Fox (primary)
Comms: Joe Buck, Troy Aikman, Erin Andrews
Ref: Ron Torbert

New England Patriots @ Arizona Cardinals
1.30am BST – Sky Sports / 8.30pm EDT – NBC
Comms: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth, Michele Tafoya
Ref: Tony Corrente

Monday 12 September

Pittsburgh Steelers @ Washington Redskins
12.10am BST – Sky Sports / 7.10pm EDT – ESPN
Comms: Sean McDonough, Jon Gruden, Lisa Salters
Ref: Craig Wrolstad

L.A Rams @ San Francisco 49ers
3.20am BST – Sky Sports / 10.20pm EDT – ESPN
Comms: Chris Berman, Steve Young, Lindsay Czarniak
Ref: Bill Vinovich

Posted by on Thursday 8 September 2016
Jamie Erdahl - CBS NFL (1)

Jamie Erdahl has been named a new host of NFL Network’s Good Morning Football. She joins NFL Network from CBS Sports, where she joined in 2014 and will continue to work for select assignments. During her eight years with CBS,…

NFL LOGO

The 2022 NFL Draft will take place this week (April 28–30, 2022) at Caesars Forum on the Las Vegas Strip, in Paradise, Nevada. It will be the 87th edition of the National Football League’s annual draft, where the Jacksonville Jaguars…

Al Michaels & Kirk Herbstreit joins NFL Thursday Night Football on Amazon Prime

Amazon Prime today announced it’s commentating duo for its coverage of NFL Thursday Night Football. Iconic play-by-play announcer Al Michaels and Emmy-winning analyst Kirk Herbstreit will call Amazon’s exclusive coverage of NFL Thursday Night Football, which kicks off on Thursday…